News Lalitpur: Valley-wide inter-municipality open Mayor's Cup

The first valley-wide inter-municipality open Mayor's Cup football tournament kicked off in Godawari municipality from Saturday.

Mahalakshmi municipality of Lalitpur defeated the A team of host Godavari municipality in the opening match of Godavari multi-purpose stadium located in Jhyaluntar stadium located in Ward No. 10 Tahakhel-Jhyaluntar.

By defeating Godawari by 4-2 in the penalty shoot out, Mahalakshmi secured their place in the quarter finals. Siddhant Adhikari, Nissan Raut, Saroj Rai and Nissan Basnet scored 1 each for Mahalakshmi. Subas Tamang and Sayer Tamang scored one goal each for the defeated Godawari. For Godawari, the first 2 penalties could not be converted into goals.

Mahalakshmi's goalkeeper Aryan Marhajan, who stopped Godavari's two penalties in the match, became the man of the match & received 5,000 in cash.

Now Mahalakshmi will compete with Dakshinkali Municipality on 21st Baisakh to enter the semi-finals. Dakshinkali directly reached the quarterfinals with a bye.

In the competition, 15 teams from 14 municipalities in the valley are competing in this competition. 2 matches are being played in the tournament on Sunday. In the first match to be played at 12:30 p.m., Konjyosom rural municipality and Nagarjuna municipality will face each other, and in the next match, Chandragiri municipality and Bagmati rural municipality will compete at 3 pm.

Similarly, 50,000 rupees will be given to the disciplined team and 25,000 rupees to the best goalkeeper, defender, forward, all-round scorer and best coach. The winning team of the competition will be awarded Rs 5 lakh and the runner-up will be awarded Rs 3 lakh.

Post Comments
Advertisement Yamaha Nepal